search this site
SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

Get the eNews

* indicates required
Email Format
communicate
This form does not yet contain any fields.
    find ben simpson on facebook
    twitter updates
    resources

    Entries in Music (9)

    Thursday
    Aug182016

    McCracken's New Cut

    This has a solid sound.

    Monday
    Aug012016

    Tunes: The Bi-Weekly Record

    My friend Scotland Huber distributes an eNewsletter called "The Bi-Weekly Record."

    Here are the archives. You can click and subscribe near the top.

    Scot recently drew my attention to The Cactus Blossoms and their wonderful offering You're Dreaming and woke me up to Weezer's Weezer (White Album).

    Grazie, Scot.

    Singles are OK. Albums are better. The Bi-Weekly Record supplies solid leads.

    Thursday
    Dec242015

    Rowan Williams, Handel's Messiah, Box Canyon

    Here are a few things I have enjoyed this week. First up, Rowan Williams. This presentation was given earlier this month at St. Paul's Cathedral, London. The video is an hour and a half, which includes an introduction and a question and answer period. Rowan Williams is brilliant.

    One claim made in this presentation:

    We are shown something about God. That the God we believe in is not a God who has to be lured down from heaven by being very, very polite to him, or behaving extra well. We are dealing with a God who can't help himself overflowing, boiling over, into the world he has made. A God who cannot give less than the life that is the divine life. We are dealing, in other words, with a God who does not have to be persuaded to be interested in us. And that's quite a good start.

    Secondly, George Frideric Handel's "Messiah." You would think that I might have heard this beautiful oratorio in its entirety at some point. Until this week, I had not. I have been listening to Christmas music for the past two weeks, and upon hearing Part 12, "Unto Us a Child is Born," I was taken in. I will go so far to say that my soul was lifted, and I was changed.

    Thirdly, this little video from Laity Lodge was something I enjoyed. 

    Underneath from Laity Lodge on Vimeo.

    Lastly, The Brilliance released an EP last week. The track "See the Love" is good, and challenging. Give it a listen.

    Wednesday
    Jan072015

    JJ Heller - This Year

    Good stuff from JJ Heller, and brand new.

    Saturday
    Aug042012

    Short Book Review :: Singing From Silence by Pamela Richards

    Singing from Silence: Rich Mullins: Love Beyond Fear is written by Pamela Richards, a friend of Richard Mullins, the Christian recording artist who died in a tragic accident in 1997.

    Unlike James Bryan Smith's devotional account of the life of Mullins, Richards' work is autobiographical, and she uses her experiences of Mullins as a prism through which to understand her own life. Mullins was an artist; so is she. Mullins had a prophetic word to say to his segment of the Christian community; Richards believes she does as well. Their friendship, forged and cemented via conversation and shared artistic expression, is one Richards came to value and appreciate not only for what Mullins gave to the world through his music, but what he provided for her personally.

    Portions of this book read rough, not because of prosaic style, but because of content. Richards is honest about her own struggles with her family of origin, her church background, and her marriage and subsequent divorce. There is an anger and a hurt that rings throughout the work, though not without a glimmer of hope and healing. Richards' narrative arc includes a romance between herself and Mullins that is difficult to categorize, and the tensions that sustain that romance are a major theme of the book.

    For fans of Rich Mullins, Richards reveals details of songwriting sessions and personal conversations, some of which provide back stories for the content of popular Mullins' recordings. These passages provide context for the creative process, and are enlightening for others who express themselves through music or other artistic media. A window in to the creative process is always helpful for other creative people, both in how it is instructive and inspirational. Richards tells of Mullins' deep love for God, the ways in which this expressed itself in his relationships to other people, and how the intersection between the two informed his music.

    This book provides a perspective on Rich Mullins I had not encountered. For fans of his music and those interested in his life, Richards gives us much to consider, both in specifics relating to Mullins, but also more broadly with regard to art, the Christian life, truth, relationships, and hope.

    NOTE: I received this book in exchange for a review. You can learn more about Pamela Richards by clcking here.